Thinking about running in the next municipal election? Alberta Municipal Affairs has created “Running for Municipal Office in Alberta: A Guide for Candidates”. This guide outlines all the election procedures in Alberta. You can view it HERE.

To read about the Municipal Election, please visit Alberta Municipal Affairs website HERE.

Municipal Election Day was Monday, October 21st, 2013.

Polling Station was the Claresholm Community Centre located at 5900 – 8 Street West.
Hours were 10:00am to 8:00pm.

Advance Poll was Monday, October 7th, 2013 from 1:00 to 6:00pm in Council Chambers at the Administration Office.

Claresholm & District Chamber of Commerce along with the Claresholm Local Press hosted a Candidates Forum on Thursday, October 10th at the Claresholm Community Centre.

New Council will be sworn in at the Organizational Meeting on Monday, October 28, 2013 at 7:00pm in Council Chambers at the Town Office. The public is welcome to attend.

Mayor (one position):

643  Moore, David
691****Steel, Rob

Councillors (six positions):

715****Cutler, Jamie
660****Dixon, Chris
723****Fieguth, Betty
844****Ford, Shelley
569  Hanselmann, Curt
391  Hubka, David Michael
426  MacPherson, Doug
590****McAlonan, Mike
572****O’Neill, Lyal
523  Sutter, Daryl B.
570  Van Amerongen, Judy
351  Wall, Barry

Changes to the Local Authorities Election Act  mean that the new Council will be elected for a four year term of office. There were several changes made to the LAEA that are explained in this Information Bulletin from Alberta Municipal Affairs.

Voter Identification is required by all voters. Each voter must produce one piece of identification that establishes both the elector’s name and current address. For information regarding Voter Eligibility Identification Requirements, please click HERE.
You must be a Canadian Citizen and have been a resident of Alberta for at least six (6) months immediately preceeding Election Day. Your place of residence must be in the Town of Claresholm on Election Day in order to vote for Mayor and Councillors.

Alberta Municipal Affairs has an updated list (September 27, 2013) of Frequently Asked Questions HERE that should answer any questions you may have.

Unofficial results will be posted to this webpage once the votes have been counted the evening of October 21st, 2013. Unofficial results will also be posted to the Town’s Facebook page and Twitter account. Results become official at 12 Noon on Friday, October 25th, 2013.