Local Government

TOWN COUNCIL 2013-2017
Left to right: Councillor Mike McAlonan, Councillor Lyal O’Neill, Councillor Jamie Cutler, Councillor Shelley Ford, Councillor Betty Fieguth, Councillor Chris Dixon, Mayor Rob Steel

Budget 2017 Highlights HERE.

The 2017 Operational and Capital Budgets were approved at the March 13, 2017 regular Town Council meeting. You can read the full budget document as presented to Council HERE.

2016 Audited Financial Statements were approved at the April 24, 2017 regular Town Council meeting. You can read them in their entirety HERE.

Strategic Plan 2016-2019 was approved at the March 29, 2016 Regular Council Meeting. You can view the full document HERE.

New Organizational Structure was approved at the June 12, 2017 regular Town Council meeting. You can view it HERE.


Regular Town Council Meetings are held in the Town Council Chambers on the 2nd and 4th Mondays at 7:00 pm. The public is welcome to attend. If Monday is a holiday, the meeting will be on Tuesday. Only one meeting is held in the months of July and August, chosen and announced during the year. There may only be one meeting in December as well. Please see the sidebar for meeting schedules.

Should you wish to come to Council as a Delegation, please make your request in writing with details on why you wish to speak to Council. The Finance Assistant will advise you of the next available meeting date, and you will be put on the Agenda. A maximum of two delegations will be allowed at the same meeting. Council allows 15 minutes for each delegation and does not make any decisions at the same meeting. Please refer any questions to the Town Office.

For information regarding the election, please see our dedicated webpage HERE.
The next municipal election will be held Monday, October 16, 2017. 

Are you thinking of running for office? This training will help you better understand the rigors and demands of elected office, while fostering ethical standards in the election campaign process. 
Lethbridge – September 11, 2017 from 7:00 to 10:00 p.m. in the lower level of The Keg restaurant. Please see the poster HERE.

Elected Officials Education Program (EOEP) has been providing municipally elected officials in Alberta quality professional development opportunities focusing on roles, responsibilities, leadership and governance since 2008. For more information on the courses they offer, please visit their website HERE.

Town Council is made of one mayor and six councillors. They are as follows (updated October 2016):

Mayor Rob Steel
Internal: Administrative Services Committee, Audit & Finance Committee, Facility & Infrastructure Planning Committee, Subdivision & Development Appeal Board, Wage Negotiating Committee
External: None.

Councillor Jamie Cutler
Internal: Claresholm & District Family & Community Support Services Board, Facility & Infrastructure Planning Committee, Municipal Planning Commission
External: Claresholm Child Care Society, Claresholm Community Hall Board, Claresholm Golf Club

Councillor Chris Dixon
Internal: Facility & Infrastructure Planning Committee, Grievance Committee, Recreation Facility Users Committee (Arena & Ball Diamonds)
External: Livingstone Range School Division Town Liaison & Joint Use Representative, Southern Alberta Summer Games Committee, Swimming Pool Joint Use Representative, Willow Creek Agricultural Society Board

Councillor Betty Fieguth
Internal: Audit & Finance Committee, Facility & Infrastructure Planning Committee, Grievance Committee, Taxation and Assessment Advisory Committee, Swimming Pool Committee, Wage Negotiating Committee
External: Claresholm & District Chamber of Commerce, Claresholm Housing Authority Board, Claresholm Playschool Society Board, Oldman River Regional Services Commission

Councillor Shelley Ford
Internal: Administrative Services Committee, Facility & Infrastructure Planning Committee, Claresholm & District Family & Community Support Services Board, Municipal Planning Commission, Wage Negotiating Committee
External: Alberta SouthWest Regional Alliance, Claresholm Animal Rescue Society, Claresholm Food Bank

Councillor Mike McAlonan
Internal: Emergency Services Committee, Facility & Infrastructure Planning Committee, Claresholm & District Museum Board, Subdivision & Development Appeal Board
External: Claresholm & District Transportation Society Board, Claresholm Library Board, Fort Macleod Subdivision & Development Appeal Board

Councillor Lyal O’Neill
Internal: Audit & Finance Committee, Emergency Services Committee, Facility & Infrastructure Planning Committee, Municipal Planning Commission, Wage Negotiating Committee
External: Porcupine Hills Lodge Board, Porcupine Hills Lodge Foundation Board, Willow Creek Regional Landfill Commission

Should you wish to contact a member of Town Council please complete the form below.

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)


Your Message

Enter the code as it is shown: This field helps prevent automated access.